Skip to main content

Main Area

Main

How the minimum wage has changed in your state

  • Massachusetts

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $12.75
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $6 ($9.24 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $3.10 ($10.39 inflation-adjusted)

    In 1912, Massachusetts became the first state to enact a minimum wage law to protect women and child workers younger than 18 (all of whom at the time were earning around $5 for a more-than-50-hour week). The District of Columbia—and 14 additional states—followed suit, only to be struck down in a 1923 Supreme Court decision deeming a mandated minimum wage unconstitutional. That decision wasn’t reversed until 1937. Massachusetts’ minimum wage will rise 75 cents each year until it's $15 on Jan. 1, 2023.

  • Michigan

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $9.65
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $3.10 ($10.39 inflation-adjusted)

    Michigan’s minimum wage sits $2.40 above the federally-mandated wage. Lawmakers voted in 2018 to adopt measures to raise the minimum wage to $12.05 an hour by 2030.

  • Minnesota

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $10 (large employers) / $8.15 (small employers)
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $4.90-$5.15
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $2.90 ($9.72 inflation-adjusted)

    Minnesota was one of 20 states that rang in the New Year with a minimum wage increase and one of seven states that automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living. Over the past eight decades, the federally-mandated minimum wage has increased 22 times from 25 cents to its current rate of $7.25.

  • Mississippi

    - Minimum wage in 2020: no state-level minimum
    - Minimum wage in 2000: no state-level minimum
    - Minimum wage in 1980: no state-level minimum

    If the minimum wage requirement were to disappear, it would become legal for five states, including Mississippi, to pay less than minimum wage. Mississippi, along with Tennessee, Louisiana, Alabama, and South Carolina, have no state minimum wage at all.

  • Missouri

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $9.45
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: no state-level minimum

    Missouri voted in 2018 by statewide ballot measure to adopt a plan that will increase the minimum wage to $12 an hour effective Jan. 1, 2023. It was one of 14 states that increased their rates due to previously-approved ballot initiatives or legislation.

    You may also like: The top 50 party schools in America

  • Montana

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $8.65
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $4–$5.15
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $2 ($6.70 inflation-adjusted)

    Things are looking up for Montana workers, as the minimum wage increased from $8.50 to $8.65 per hour in January 2020. Gov. Steve Bullock announced that beginning Jan. 1, 2021, the minimum wage rate in Montana will be $8.75 per hour.

  • Nebraska

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $9
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $1.60 ($5.36 inflation-adjusted)

    Nebraska has come a long way since 1980 when the minimum wage was set at $1.60. Just a year later, the federal minimum wage endured a nine-year freeze at $3.35.

  • Nevada

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $9 (without health benefits) / $8 (with health benefits)
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $2.75 ($9.21 inflation-adjusted)

    In Nevada, employees must be paid the minimum rate of $9 an hour, but if the employer offers health benefits, you can be paid $8 an hour. The minimum wage is set to increase gradually until it hits $12 in 2024.

  • New Hampshire

    - Minimum wage in 2020: no state-level minimum
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $3.10 ($10.39 inflation-adjusted)

    New Hampshire has the lowest minimum wage in New England. Surrounded by states with a minimum wage of over $10, the Granite State pays the federally-mandated rate of $7.25.

  • New Jersey

    - Minimum wage in 2020: $11
    - Minimum wage in 2000: $5.15 ($7.93 inflation-adjusted)
    - Minimum wage in 1980: $3.10 ($10.39 inflation-adjusted)

    New Jersey’s minimum wage jumped from $10 an hour to $11 an hour in January 2020. It will rise to $12 an hour in January 2021 and ascend $1 per year through January 2024, when it will be $15 an hour.

    You may also like: Best places to retire on the East Coast